HOMEMADE CARPET DEGREASER

Carpet Degreaser

Back in April I shared my favorite method for getting a greasy stain out of dark clothing.Click here to see the whole post – it’s basically just a mixture of Dawn dishwashing liquid, hydrogen peroxide and baking soda. It works like a charm! That post got me thinking about greasy stains on things like furniture or carpet that you wouldn’t work with the Dawn method. That’s when I stumbled on this post from iVillage suggesting a simple way to remove grease stains from carpet and had to give it a try.

Since I don’t currently have any greasy stains on my carpet I decided to use a remnant piece of carpet and create a few stains that I think would be pretty common in a lot of households. I went with pizza, bacon grease, salad dressing and peanut butter.

Carpet Degreaser

To cut through the grease you’ll need salt and rubbing alcohol. Combine them in a 4 to 1 ratio. I used 4 tablespoons of salt and 1 tablespoon of rubbing alcohol. You want the mixture to be a paste rather than a liquid. I also added (not pictured) several drops ofLemon essential oil for it’s disinfecting properties and fresh smell! 🙂 (FYI…Lemon EO is the “Item of the Week” at Spark Naturals!)

Carpet Degreaser

Carpet Degreaser

Once you mix together the salt and rubbing alcohol, rub it into your carpet in the direction of the nap of the carpet. Wait for the carpet to dry and then vacuum up the excess salt. The drying process may take a while so you’ll have to be patient. Since I was using a remnant piece of carpet I was able to put it out in the sun to speed up the process but it still took a good hour.

Carpet Degreaser

So the big questions is…did it work?? I would say it was pretty successful in soaking up the grease. You’ll notice in the after picture that this mixture worked best on the bacon grease. I’m assuming that’s because it was straight grease with nothing else mixed in.  If this had been my actual carpet I may have tried another round of soaking to get the grease out completely but I was still pleasantly surprise at how well it worked the first time around.

Carpet Degreaser

Carpet Degreaser

For the other three spots I would say this method still soaked up the grease but just didn’t quite get out the stains from the other ingredients in those products. There are definitely still stains from the pizza, salad dressing and peanut butter.

To get out the non-greasy parts of stains I highly suggest trying my miracle carpet stain remover! It is my absolute favorite way to remove stubborn stains. Even ones that have been there for who knows how long!

 

 

 

Have you found a trick you love for getting grease stains out of carpet?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed me

